(WASHINGTON, D.C.) Representative Charlie Dent (PA-15) has cosponsored the bipartisan Russian Sanctions Review Act, which would require Congress to approve of any effort to remove the sanctions currently imposed on Russia.

“Vladimir Putin’s aggressive actions in Ukraine and the repeated cyberattacks that Russia has carried out against U.S. government entities and individuals constitute a real threat to the democratic ideals that have long been held by the United States and our allies,” Dent said. “I am proud to cosponsor this legislation and support this bipartisan effort to ensure that Congress and the American people we represent maintain an active role in assessing the merits of the sanctions imposed on Russia before they can be unilaterally unraveled. Russia must earn sanctions relief through clear and definitive actions such as ceasing their occupation of Crimea, their aggression in Ukraine, and their malevolent activities directed at our government and our nation’s election system. Until that time arrives, we must remain vigilant in our commitment to upholding the rule of law through any means necessary, including targeted sanctions.”

Currently, the United States has imposed sanctions on Russia for its malicious cyber activities conducted during the 2016 presidential election cycle, as well as separate sanctions that were imposed in reaction to Russia’s aggression in Ukraine and its unlawful occupation of Crimea. Identical to the Senate bill introduced by Senators Lindsay Graham (R-SC), Marco Rubio (R-FL), Ben Cardin (D-MD), Sherrod Brown (D-OH), John McCain, and Claire McCaskill (D-MO), the Russian Sanctions Review Act would require a 120-day review period before the President may alter, in any way, sanctions currently applied on Russia. Additionally, the bill would codify a number of existing executive orders that impose sanctions on Russian affiliates, including those involved in the recent hacking of the United States. 

In order to modify these imposed sanctions, the President would need to certify to Congress that the Government of Russia has stopped the activities that warranted the sanctions in the first place.  The bill’s original cosponsors include House Minority Whip Steny H. Hoyer (D-MD) and Representatives Tom Rooney (R-FL), Eliot Engel (D-NY), Adam Kinzinger (R-IL), Adam Schiff (D-CA), Adam Smith (D-WA), and Mike Turner (R-OH).


Representative Dent serves as the Chairman of the House Appropriations Subcommittee on Military Construction, Veterans Affairs and Related Agencies.

CONTACT: Shawn Millan (610) 770-3490